Welcome to The Tangled Branch!  Join us.

Who are you reading??

Discussions, Rants & Resources
Post Reply
poet-e
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:10 pm

Who are you reading??

Post by poet-e » Wed Sep 25, 2019 9:46 pm

Stumbled upon Mary Oliver.

Lookin for more good poets.
Should I read pulitzer prize winners?

Dave
Posts: 850
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:07 pm

Re: Who are you reading??

Post by Dave » Mon Oct 14, 2019 7:38 pm

Read poets of all kinds. Pulitzer Prize winners, you really think a prize has something to say? Find a poem you like and find more poems of that poet. Read and move on.
D

poet-e
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:10 pm

Re: Who are you reading??

Post by poet-e » Mon Oct 21, 2019 12:01 am

Thanks Dave!  Who do you like?

User avatar
Tracy Mitchell
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: Who are you reading??

Post by Tracy Mitchell » Sat Dec 28, 2019 9:05 pm

Hi poet-e,
 I hope you will be back soon, and I am sorry I missed your [brief] tenure here.

Reading poetry is a healthy practice in itself, and is additionally a marvelous boost to the writing of poetry.  I try to read broadly as well as plenty of the poets I really like.  Poetry.Org publishes a Poem a Day, and will put it in your email inbox every morning.  I have been a subscriber for years.  Some of the poems are incredible, some go right by me.  I read poems, though, that I wouldn't otherwise.   
Click here -- Poem-a-Day

The poets I am currently reading -- Thomas Hennen, Mary Moore Easter, and Robert Pinsky.

Let me know if you want to talk about suggestions.

Cheers.

T

poet-e
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:10 pm

Re: Who are you reading??

Post by poet-e » Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:03 pm

Thanks Tracy.

ajduclos
Posts: 835
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 7:35 pm

Re: Who are you reading??

Post by ajduclos » Thu Jan 16, 2020 12:00 am

Yes - thanks Tracy... Poem-a-Day is amazing !!!!!!!!!!

And I do love Mary Oliver !!!

Have fun poet-e

Aj  

Post Reply